Thoughts on Technology C&I 579

What attitudes, skills and concepts have you gained from participating in the course so far?

 As I reflect on what we have done so far, I am overwhelmed thinking about how education i going to change in the next 10 years.  To think when I started teaching, I was armed with a state of the art, automatic correction tape type writer.  Teaching is no longer standing in front of the room lecturing about the Civil War, today I have to give my students real world experiences.  Teaching requires not only a firm grasp of content, but also an understanding of technology based learning. Text books are going extinct; on the computer books can be interactive and embedded with video.  To prepare my students for college and the workplace involves on line collaboration, social networking and online literacy.  To realize that I will be expected to flip my classroom and learn how to utilize all the technology involved has become a little less scary by building a basic understanding of what is available and learning the language of the future.

What have you learned in the course that you will not forget tomorrow?

 One of the most important skills I have learned is figuring out how to search for information.  I have had to jump in feet first and draw on my problem solving skills to tackle this new world. Utilizing YouTube and blogs to link to instructional tutorials has helped take some of the fear out of navigating through cyber space.  Learning to link and embed will spice up my lessons. More importantly, it becomes my job to make sure the students know how to utilize what is available.  When I think about all of the information students are exposed to, as a teacher I need to explain protocol and create etiquette standards for my classroom. Utilizing my webpage or blog as a teaching tools is definitely in the near future.  Using laptops, tablets or iPads will be the future.

How will you apply what you have learned to your teaching and future learning?

 Technology has added a layer to teaching my students how to research.  Using Google books and Google scholar has been a staple in my classroom, but now I need to teach my students what makes a good blog and if the material on the blog is valuable for classroom use.  Accessing YouTube videos from researches and leaders in a field opens up doors to a wealth of information. In the future I will teach the students how to open up documents and videos through diigo in order to make notations and save notes. By flipping my class, I can link the students to interactive web sites for homework and in class monitor and remediate.  I have a new understanding of and appreciation for problem-solving.  This class has exposed me to the future and helped me understand the world my students will be entering.  If I do not keep up with the changes, I will not be an effective teacher.

1 Comment

  1. Dr. Toledo

    Denise,

    So many lessons, so little time – look at all you’ve learned. I really appreciate the fact that you’ve emphasized process over all else; for process will carry you through any changes in the technology. Congratulations!!

    Dr. T

Leave a Reply

