Blog Post #4

As I learn to utilize technology in my classroom, I am interested in finding out how other teachers have paved the way.

Jan 21, 2012

Social Bookmarks: A Pinteresting Conversation!

 

A couple months ago a friend asked me if I knew about Pinterest and when I nodded my head “yes” I had thought I knew about Pinterest. She mentioned that she spent over an hour on the site just browsing. I remember thinking “really? an hour? what was so great?” I went home that night and took another look at pinterest and found that I spent not ” an hour” but my entire evening looking at different teaching ideas. I had a really hard time logging off. Since then I joined the site and have explored how I would use Pinterest to keep and share those little golden nuggets that I find on the internet. Pinterest is quickly becoming one of my favorite social bookmarking sites.
 
As a quick review a social bookmark is a tool for organizing and sharing websites (links). Users can access these bookmarks on any computer anywhere, anytime by logging into their account. Once a link is saved in a social bookmarking site, the user adds a tag to the link. A tag is a word or a phrase used to categorize information.

There are many different types of social bookmarks. Diigo has been my favorite for a few years now and Pinterest is certainly becoming another. Here is a quick review of Diigo for those of you that are not familiar with it: (see previous posts for explanations for classroom examples)

Teachers can use Diigo to tag chosen sites from which the users can retrieve information. They find the pre-selected sources by searching the Diigo search engine and then clicking on the tag. This reduces searching time and limits the possibility of getting inaccurate information. Along with tagging, users can highlight, annotate and add sticky notes to sites that they bookmark.

The power of Diigo? In my opinion, Diigo shows the way each user learns, thinks, and develops the knowledge because users can see what information was previously selected, organized, and categorized. It provides students with an opportunity to learn about their own learning and understand the aspects of the information they find relevant. It also helps users become aware of their own criteria when they tag and categorize.
Now onto Pinterest. This interesting “visual” social bookmarking site defines itself as a “virtual pinboard that lets you organize and share all of the beautiful things on the web” (Pinterest Site). (Already it grabs you, doesn’t it?)
 
What is the real beauty in it? The power of the image! Wow! As you go through a page in Pinterest, you scan quickly to see which site might be of interest and it is the image that captivates. All of the sites that have been “pinned” (or bookmarked) are images. Users categorize their “pins” and “tag” their “friends” in the network.

 
So which is the best: Diigo or Pinterest?
 
I continue to use Diigo to bookmark “academic” sites and readings and to network with educators that are sharing their “academic” sites. I am using Pinterest to search for great classroom ideas.
 
Here are some resources for using Diigo:
 
 
Diigo Educators Group (over 2000 members)
 
Diigo Literacy with ICT Group (over 18,000 member)
 
 
 
Here are some resources for using Pinterest:
 
 
 
 
 
I am glad my friend asked me that day if I knew about Pinterest and that I went on that evening to take a second look at it. I have expanded my learning network and have even better ways and tools to bookmark my sites. Thanks Friend!
 

Blogger dmitchell9said…

I have just been introduced to diigo and look forward to using it as a regular tool in my classroom. I have found it a great for collaboration, especially for the less confident students. As schools move toward paperless classrooms, it is important we teach our students how to utilize technology based literacy strategies. Thank you for the tips and ideas.

Leave a Reply

